

## **Maynard School District**

Office of the Superintendent 74 Campus Drive Maynard, AR 72444 870-647-3502 – Fax 870-647-2301



## Board Meeting Minutes April 28, 2015

Members in Attendance: Dr. Bounds, Clint Seagraves, Tracy Toy, Charles Jarrett, Babbie Nelson

Others in Attendance: Pat Rawlings, Cecile Harris, Jacy Long, Cody Harper

Dr. Bounds called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Introduction of our guest were made. The board visited with each guest individually.

Legal transfers were presented at this time. Colby Reed and Joshua Smith were approved at the September 11 meeting but were omitted from the minutes. They are transferring from Pocahontas School District. Clint Seagraves made a motion to amend those minutes to add their names to the list of approved legal transfers. Charles Jarrett seconded the motion, and motion carried 5/0. A legal transfer from Pocahontas School District for Summer Land was presented. She transferred in January 2015 but there was some confusion on whether she actually lived in the district. Clint Seagraves made a motion to accept the legal transfer, seconded by Charles Jarrett, motion carried 5/0. Clint Seagraves made a motion, seconded by Charles Jarrett to accept a legal transfer for Alliston DeJournett and Justin DeJournett to transfer to the Pocahontas School District from the Maynard School District, motion carried 5/0.

There was discussion on the termite damage to the annex ladies bathroom doorway and the southwest roof of the old high school building. The board agreed that Orkin needed to get the contractor to replace the damaged materials.

The certified salary schedule for the 2015-2016 school year was tabled until the May meeting.

The board entered executive session to discuss personnel at 7:10 p.m.

The board reconvened at 8:15 p.m.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire the following classified staff as bus drivers: Aaron Jarrett, Ann Kitchen, Harold McCurter, Darrell Melton, Jeff Roark, Kenny Secrest, and Oscar Smith, motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire John Starling as bus mechanic, motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Rhonda McCurter as Food Service Director 5/0, Sandra Eagle and Susan Francis as cafeteria managers 5/0, Cathy Davis, Erica Steele White, Betty Groning, and Cheryl Turner as cooks, motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Debra Carnes, Lisa Kincade, and Sherry Moore as janitors, motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Kenny Barr for maintenance, motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Susan Simmons as school nurse motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Peggy James as bookkeeper, motion passed 5/0.

Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Damien Steele as technology coordinator motion passed 5/0.

At this time the teacher's aides were discussed. Motion made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Betty Late, Janis Ulmer-Distance Learning Facilitator, Jennifer Ignico-Due Process Clerk, Courtney Blackwell, Vicki Acree, Tammy Beaver, and Stephanie Cline, motion passed 5/0. Motion made by Charles Jarrett and seconded by Babbie Nelson to rehire Amanda DeJournett, motion passed 3/2. Motion by Babbie Nelson, seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Robyn Glisson, Dian Jarrett, Jeanise Lawrence, Elaine Roberts, and LaWanda Shocklee, motion passed 5/0.

A motion was made by Babbie Nelson, seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire the following: Vicki Alphin, Kim Waddell, and Kim Moore, motion passed 5/0.

Charles Jarrett made a motion to delete the stipend for the Girls Basketball Coach Extra Duty (20 days), seconded by Tracy Toy, motion carried 5/0.

Babbie Nelson made a motion to delete the stipend for the two counselors, Charles Jarrett seconded, motion carried 5/0.

Tracy Toy made a motion to add a \$4,000.00 stipend for an Athletic Director, Clint Seagraves seconded, motion carried 5/0.

Clint Seagraves made a motion to hire David Byers as the Athletic Director, Babbie Nelson seconded, motion carried 5/0.

Babbie Nelson made a motion to rehire the following stipends: Adam Blackwell-Boys Basketball Coach and Track Coach, Dee Blansett- Junior Class Sponsor, Cindy Burns- Yearbook Sponsor, David Byers- Girls Basketball Coach and Softball Coach, Sarah Michelle Byers- Parent Center Coordinator for Elementary, Daniel Cline-Senior Class Sponsor, Cody Harper- Archery, Karla James- Parent Center Coordinator for High School, Kelly Johnson- Speech Therapist, Brandon Kazzee- Junior Class Sponsor, and Cindy Stuart- Senior Class Sponsor, motion seconded by Charles Jarrett, motion carried 5/0.

A motion was made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Babbie Nelson to changethe Peewee Coach stipend of \$1,200.00 into a Peewee Intramural Team Coach for \$600.00 and a Peewee Traveling Team Coach for \$600.00. Motion carried 5/0.

A motion was made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Charles Jarrett to rehire Brent Ignico as the Cross
Country Coach and the Baseball Coach and to hire him as the Peewee Intramural Team Coach. Motion carried
5/0.

A motion was made by Clint Seagraves and seconded by Tracy Toy to hire Adam Blackwell as the Peewee Traveling Coach. Motion carried 5/0.

A motion was made by Babbie Nelson to accept the resignation of Kim Chaffin, seconded by Clint Seagraves, motion carried 5/0.

A motion was made by Clint Seagraves to hire Cecile Harris as the new Agriculture teacher for the 2015-2016 school year, seconded by Tracy Toy, motion carried 5/0.

In other business the approval of chaperones for the Music trip to New York City was discussed.

There being no further business Charles Jarrett made a motion to adjourn at 9:00 p.m., seconded by Babbie Nelson, motion carried 5/0.

President	Secretary